Hong Kong Lawn Bowls Association

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Hong Kong International Bowls Classic

    HK Classic home pageWith a goal of providing an opportunity for local lawn bowlers to play against top class international bowlers, the Hong Kong International Bowls Classic was first introduced in 1981.

    It started off as a men’s event, with the Hong Kong women’s team included occasionally.  Since 2008 the competition was expanded to cover a women’s competition.

    Over the years, the Classic has grown into one of the best outdoor bowls tournaments in the world.  Nowadays, all participating countries are sending their strongest national team members to the event. 

    The annual event, which is held during winter at member clubs’ venues, includes a singles and a pairs competition.
    The singles is a knockout competition which involves a maximum of 64 players.  In addition to the overseas players and the champions of the local singles competitions, all local players need to go through a qualifying process to be included in the main draw.

    For the pairs competition, all teams will be divided into two groups and play in round-robin format.  The top four teams of each group will be go through to the knock-out stage. 

    The Pairs is a seven day competition.  The 24 teams will be made up of the overseas teams, Hong Kong, teams from all the Division 1 clubs and teams from the qualifying tournament.  They will be divided into two groups to play out a round robin competition, with the top four from each group qualifying for the knock out stage.  

    Hong Kong bowlers have won the Pairs title on five occasions and the Hong Kong Team won it in 2007.  In the Singles, Hong Kong players George Souza Jnr and Noel Kennedy won their titles in 1984 and 1994 respectively.

  • Special Events
  • International Events
  • Golden Jubilee 2011

    Golden Jubilee logoThe Hong Kong Lawn Bowls Association is celebrating its Golden Jubilee from March 1 this year.  A series of activities is being planned to mark this special occasion.

    One of the foremost events in the Jubilee year is the World Bowls 2011 Champion of Champions, scheduled for November 6-13.  The singles champions from the 52 member national authorities under World Bowls will participate in the annual tournament. 

    All the international players will then be invited to participate in the HKLBA Golden Jubilee International Bowls Mixed Pairs Classic, which will be held right after the Champion of Champions.  They will play against local players in this tournament.

    While all the national competitions and league matches will be carried out as usual, the winners will be treated with specially designed Golden Jubilee trophies.  Another special tournament will be held in early 2012 to mark the finale of the year.

  • Classic previous winners
  • World Singles Champion of Champions 2011
    Conditions of entry Confirming entry 2011
    Conditions of play Player profile form
  • Hong Kong International Bowls Classic 2011
  • Hong Kong International Bowls Classic 2012
  • Hong Kong International Bowls Classic 2013
  • Hong Kong International Bowls Classic 2014
  • Hong Kong International Bowls Classic 2015
  • The Bowls Grand Prix

    The Bowls Grand Prix is an all-new spectacle to be held in Easter each year. It is slated to be the pinnacle of competitive team lawn bowls in Hong Kong. Top ranked league teams and HKLBA teams comprising aspiring Hong Kong China Squad members converge for 4 consecutive days of play in all 4 disciplines to compete for the overall grand prize.

  • Hong Kong International Bowls Classic 2018
  • Hong Kong International Bowls Classic 2016
  • Hong Kong International Bowls Classic 2017